Peter Pan Puppies?

People are always saying they wish their puppies would never grow up. In some ways I can see why, but in a lot of ways I don’t. Puppies are a lot a lot of work. Unless you are going to keep them in a crate all day, (which would be inhumane,) they have to be supervised at all times. (I’m not saying crates are bad, I’m just saying that they are only for when you are unable to supervise your puppy/dog, not to stick them in whenever you don’t feel like dealing with them.) So I think that when people say they wish puppies stayed puppies, they are looking back at puppyhood through rose-tinted glasses. I think we all tend to do that. Brèagha is great. She is sweet and cuddly and adorable, innocently  trusting of everyone, playing with puppyish abandon. But she also runs around chewing/eating exactly everything she shouldn’t and ignoring her toys. This is the worst in the morning. As someone used to quite mornings, it’s hard not to get impatient with her as I sit on the floor constantly dragging her away from things and trying in vain to convince her to play with her toys instead. And this is only the beginning of puppyhood. Yes, I am in love with her in that way you can only be with a puppy. But I will be very happy indeed when she starts acting just a little more like an adult.

I have run upstairs 6 times throughout writing this post to make sure she’s still asleep up there. I think she may be waking up now.

Y’all can have your Peter Pan puppies. I’d like mine to eventually grow up.

Leave a Reply

