“Allergies” and House Centipedes

It’s spring, I tell myself. Everything is blooming. It’s just allergies making my throat sore and my nose run, I reason. Allergies. Allergies! (As I casually take some of the many immune boosting supplements we have, “just in case.”)

Well, today it is undeniable that I am sick. But fear not. Elderberry, tea, apple cider vinegar, and vitamin c will save me. Eventually. I hope.

Anyway, have you ever seen a house centipede?

House Centipede, Scutigera coleoptrata

Well, now you have. That’s a freakin’ giant picture, isn’t it? Sorry if it scared you. Anyway, last night, I encountered one of these in our bathroom. My brother trapped it under a jar, and after much deliberation about what to slide under the jar, it was taken outside and released. I have to admit, it was kind of scary, though not nearly as much as a spider. We didn’t know what it was, so my brother googled “long bug with lots of legs,” found out what it was, and read us a long article all about it. It turns out, house centipedes eat spiders, and therefor they are not evil. Anyhow, we also learned that these things are vicious predators.

So that’s what’s going on around here. Never a dull moment, eh?

Leave a Reply

